Consumer Reviews of GAF shingles

Popularity:
#3  of 11 brands of shingles

96% of customers recommend
5 of 5 stars 33 reviews

  • Very Satisfied
    28
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    4
  • Neutral
    0
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    0

Read more about GAF shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands

Write a review

<< Previous1234Next >>

Date created: 2018-10-02 Location: Eastover, NC

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"How I Installed The Shingles On Myself & Saved Thousands In Labor Costs"
I purchased a little over 100 sheets of shingles for all three of my rental properties the summer before. I received a few quotes from local roofers to do the labor, but decided to do the job myself, as their prices were out of my budget. I immediately headed to YouTube and watched videos on the correct removal of old shingles and the installation of new ones. I intend to keep these properties and add others in the foreseeable future. I don't want the added worry about any roofing issues for the next twenty years, as the shingles, prior to replacement, looked somewhat worn. Installation was easy and it wasn't as hot as I thought it would be. However, I had the best sleep in months when I shut down each day. The installation was so smooth that I used the same brand on my own home, although they were the more expensive option. I would recommend the brand to a friend, but I'm not too sure if they'd pay the premium that I did for my shingles, as a lot of them are transitioning to metal roofs. I would most definitely purchase this brand again and would experiment with different options GAF offered.



Date created: 2018-09-27 Location: Lancaster, NY

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Great Roofing Shingles"
My old roofing shingles were old and worn out when I purchased my house 3 years ago. I installed the GAF Timbertex roofing shingles in charcoal gray 2 years ago. They were very well constructed and are at a great price. The guarantee will ensure they are on my house longer than I will own it. Easy to install and well made. I would highly recommend these shingles, especially to a DIYer, as they are available at Home Depot. I would buy these again.


Date created: 2018-09-27 Location: Logan UT

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Very happy, they are several years old and look perfect"
I've been quite happy with the shingles. They look nice and most importantly, they are doing the job. They are several years old now, but still look new. I like the color as well. I live in a snowy, stormy environment and they have held up wonderfully. Neighbors have asked me where I got my beautiful shingles. Truly! I mean how often does that happen? They almost glisten in the sun. The color is just so vibrant. The price was completely reasonable as well. Can't complain, no sir! I like that they are still available for purchase in the doubtful event I will need to replace any of my shingles. Honestly, that's not really a worry, but just in case, cause you just never really know for sure. Honestly, it reflects on you and your family and your whole entire neighborhood if stuff looks bad. You want a home you will be proud of, use these shingles. You will not be disappointed in the least.


Date created: 2018-09-26 Location: ga

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"Review of shingles"
I had my shingles redone in 2015 after a hail storm. We called different agencies to find one that would provide excellent customer service, a quality product and a quick turn around. We wanted our product to last at least 10 years because we knew we wanted to sell our house in the near future, so we researched GAF Marquis WeatherMax. The brand has outstanding quality. The rating far exceeds our expectations and we couldn't be happier with the outcome. It looks amazing and it did not cost us our life fortune. We would highly recommend for anyone who values their home and wants it to look well kept and nice. It does not stain or mold, and the paint holds up nicely. We wanted others to see the upgrade and they definitely can. We know that it would last a long time and have no regrets in our purchase.


Date created: 2018-09-21 Location: Youngsville, Pa

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"The shingles are perfect."
I recently contracted the repair of my roof out to a friend who suggested that I use GAF shingles. We looked over a variety of colors and different sellers before finally settling on GAF Timberline HD Pewter Gray Laminated Architectural Roof Shingles. The demolition works seemed like a monumental task at first, but we methodically ripped off layer upon layer of the older shingles until we reach the bottom. Along the way we found damaged plywood and tons of debris that may have ultimately destroyed the beams supporting my roof underneath. Clouds began to loom overhead and the sky darkened just as we put in the last sheets of plywood to replace the damaged roof. We, of course, cut plenty of moisture barrier, tar paper, for underneath the shingles and began nailing them down as quick as humanly possible with the little bit of room we have on the pick. Luckily the rain was slow to build and was little more than a fine mist for a few hours. We tackled row upon row of shingles, with each row going faster than the last, and soon we reached the top again. When it came to to nail down the caps, the sky opened up and unloaded a torrent of water upon us. We quickly covered the apex of the roof and waited down below for an opportunity to finish. The rain only lasted a few minutes and lo and behold there were blue skies again. We slammed the caps on and wrapped up for the day, finishing up at a bar a few streets over. When I came home for the night I inspected all of the old leaks and not a single drop squeaked through. Even with the little bit of rain that fell on the roof's apex, none made it between the shingles or layers beneath and into the attic. GAF Timberline HD Pewter Gray Laminated Architectural Roof Shingles performed superbly, still do, and installation was an absolute breeze, even for a novice like me.


Date created: 2018-09-21 Location: Miami, Fl

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Shingle Roof is a great option"
I've had these shingle for over a year now and so far I'm happy. I like how they look slick and flat. It's easy to walk on the roof now because it's flat. The color is beautiful. I get constant compliments on the color. The color is very earthy. The shingles are very durable and won't break easily, like Spanish tiles. So replacement won't be a constant issue since I have lots of tree branch overhang. So far there is nothing I do not dislike about my shingle roof and I haven't had the need to replace because I have not had them that long, but I doubt this will happen. The quality of these shingles seems very high quality and I hired a contractor to install them correctly so I wont have issues. I will buy shingles and this brand again if needed and definitely will recommend to others if they are interested.


Date created: 2018-09-07 Location: wantagh, ny

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Review of new house shingles installed a year ago on my home"
Bought this house with a leaking roof in 2013. Contractor gave me a good price for the install, and I went through the GAF book to choose my style. Install was total rip off, plywood repaired and flashing fixed. Shingles look wonderful and took a year before they were all flat to the roof and adhered. Love the brand and keeping my house water free.


Date created: 2018-09-04 Location: Detroit, MI

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Great looking shingles!"
I have had these shingles for about a month. They look great and the color goes well with our exterior paint. I find the lighter color seems to retain less heat from the sun compared to our previous darker colored shingles. I don't dislike anything about them and cannot complain. I wish they had a lighter color to get more of the energy saving quality of the lighter color. We haven't required any repairs or maintenance on these. However I had to install some roof vents and cut into them. It was easy to do and they held up nicely being trimmed for the project. I would recommend them for anyone looking to replace their shingles and improve the appearance of their roof. They are economical and high quality.


Date created: 2018-09-04 Location: Portland, OR

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Such A Great Investment"
We had to redo our roof this summer and struggled to find a shingle that we were happy with that matched the look of our neighborhood. We are in an HOA, so we had pretty specific guidelines we had to follow. This shingle worked excellently and had no quality issues at all. I think the biggest reason we chose GAF was because of the fantastic warranty coverage in the event that something was to happen. The color is fantastic and super consistent box to box and the material was easy to install. We opted to put a second layer on top of our existing roof, and so I can say that this product worked great for that. I can't say enough how happy I am with our purchase and I would highly recommend GAF to others in our situation. You can't do much better for the price in my opinion.


Date created: 2018-08-23 Location: Prineville, OR

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Survived the hail!"
Winters can be harsh here in central Oregon, and when we decided to purchase our house in a major snow storm zone, we wanted to make sure our roof was going to stand the test of mother nature. We reviewed many different brands, many different styles, and from a recommendation by the neighbor, we decided to go with GAF. We are going on 5 years now, and having faced many a snow storm, many a hail storm, to include one that rained down golf ball sized hail, our roof has weathered very well. I love how well it has lasted. I love how many color options we had to choose from. Mostly though, I love that I have a lifetime warranty on my roof, and nothing beats that. The price was a bit steeper than the other lines that GAF carries, but it has been completely worth it. As of yet, 5 years later, there is nothing I can complain about, and nothing that I dislike. Hopefully, as long as I am living in this house, I can continue to say that. I would absolutely recommend these shingles to a friend, in fact my husband convinced his work buddy that he should get these (though he purchased a different line of GAF), and we even got my in-laws to purchase GAF. How can you go wrong with a trusted brand that offers a lifetime warranty?!

<< Previous1234Next >>

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofingcompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofingcompare.com.