Consumer Reviews of GAF shingles

Popularity:
#3  of 11 brands of shingles

96% of customers recommend
5 of 5 stars 33 reviews

  • Very Satisfied
    28
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    4
  • Neutral
    0
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    0

Read more about GAF shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands

Write a review

<< Previous1234Next >>

Date created: 2018-08-21 Location: Somerset, NJ

Satisfaction Rating:

2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"Strong but worn out Shingles"
The shingles on my roof are in okay condition. It could be better. It looks kind of dry and worn out from the rain though. It has moss or green stuff on it. I had it fixed about 6 months ago when we bought the house because it had moss. We changed the shingles by replacing it. I was kind of unsatisfied because the shingles don't hold up well from the weather. It also looks dirty and unclean. I would probably try to find a better brand if I had to refer it to a friend. It just doesn't hold up well because I bet there are better shingles out there. The only thing I like about it, is the texture and color. The durability is kind of weak though. Overall, these shingles probably lasted for many years before I had it changed, so I guess it was okay. I just wish it didn't deteriorate.



Date created: 2018-08-06 Location: Riverside, CA

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Best Roofing Shingles"
I love GAF Roofing Shingles so much. They have been reliable and very durable and easy to fix. They haven't caused me any problem ever since we used it for roofing our house. In fact, a friend who recommended them to me has now become sort of a local agent in our local community because many people kept buying them and the company called him to thank him and gave him a huge commission. These roofing shingles have been very durable, solid and very reliable. There has never been anything wrong or malfunction experienced ever since we started using them. There's no better roofing shingles than GAF as far as I'm concerned. I hate making such a statement without having tested other shingles but I feel so satisfied that I don't need to test any other ones to make up my mind about how useful and unmatched these shingles are. I recommend them to anyone.


Date created: 2018-07-17 Location: Lafayette, IN

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"GAF is Good AF!"
I had a new roof put on my home about 1 year ago. The GAF Timberline shingles look amazing and made a huge difference on the appearance of my home. The new roof, ridge vents, and soffits greatly improved the heating and cooling abilities of my HVAC. There isn't a single thing I dislike about my new roof. I would definitely buy again but I won't have to since I bought the lifetime shingles! I have not had any problems and would definitely recommend.


Date created: 2018-07-11 Location: Lake Butler Florida

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"A great working shingle for North Central Florida"
Great product...we just put on a new roof this past fall, and so far, I am very pleased with our choice. Since this is our property, we did have the luxury of making our own choice, and with the help and guidance of my son, did our own installation. I noticed right from the finish of the install that the house appeared to hold air conditioning better, even in the hot spring we have so far this year. It is similar to the type of shingle we had before, and had had on our roof for over 12 years. The hurricance that came through the area last year put us in the position of having to get this done. I was not as happy with the price as I would have liked, but with this installation we were able to make some adjustments that will allow this layer to last a super long time. I would buy them again, from what I know now,


Date created: 2018-06-29 Location: Whittier, CA

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Clean and Easy Installation"
Last month, I had to redo our roof shingles. It honestly seemed like they had been on the roof since my house was new. Some of the shingles were loose and had come out of place. Others were torn (I'm not even sure how that happens) and they all generally looked very weathered. I wasn't a big fan of the brown color so I went to the hardware store and there were so many to choose from. I really liked these GAF shingles because they looked clean and wouldn't draw too much attention like other ornate ones I saw. I live in a 1300 square foot home and I am very handy so I went ahead and did the job myself. These shingles are really easy to install and they look great once they're up. They were inexpensive and haven't given me any problems. All in all, I highly recommend these shingles.


Date created: 2018-06-04 Location: Orlando, FL

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"A well needed update"
I have owned my new shingle roof now for about 10 years. I previously had a shingle roof of the same color, but after all the hurricanes, tropical storms and hail storms, my poor roof was pretty battered. I did the work myself and decided to go with GAF because of the costs and the 25 year warranty. I love the color. It is a richer gray than I had before and I feel it updates the house. I disliked that it seemed that the granules on the shingle seemed looser than the other ones I had, but since installation, the heat had helped secure the granules better. I did have to make one minor repair last year when a tree branch fell on the roof and got caught under a section of shingles. It was an easy repair but the color sticks out because it is not weathered like the others. I would recommend this brand to my friends and one of them has used this brand in the past. I would buy it again when the time comes.


Date created: 2018-05-28 Location: Waycross, Ga.

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Very good shingles"
I've had my GAF Royal Sovereign shingles for about a year, they are very good so far, nice look, nothing I dislike so far. I would buy the same brand again, no doubt. I was recommended them by a friend who had used the same type and liked them, so I took him up on his advice and made the purchase and then hired a local company to install them. I got them from Lowe's, kind of expensive but I made the plunge anyway and now I'm glad that I did. I don't foresee any near term problems with them.


Date created: 2018-05-04 Location: Richmond, VA

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Excellent Shingles!! Great Product!"
I have owned my shingles for 2 years. I had my roof replaced with these shingles and just love them. My roof needed replacing, because it had gotten bad over the years. When I moved into the house 10 years ago the roof was not that bad, but two years ago I noticed that I had some shingles that had fallen off and that were in bad condition. The company that I used to replaced my roof were excellent. The company came out to my home and performed a detailed check of my roof. They confirmed that my roof really needed to be replaced. I decided to go with the GAF ROYAL SOVEREIGN shingles due to the look, durability, and style. The shingles were affordable and the best on the market. I would recommend these shingles family, friends, or to anyone who is looking to replace their roof. Excellent product and easy to install.


Date created: 2018-04-23 Location: 14086

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"They have been holding up pretty good through this harsh winter. I think they are a good product"
I got these shingles on my house a year or so ago. This winter in Buffalo has been quite rough. Before I got them, my roof was leaking and I was advised that I needed a new one. So I got these on the contractor's recommendation and they have survived this winter. I like the fact that they don't leak, I have no complaints, and I've never had to replace any of them. I would buy the same brand again, but again, I just got these a year ago so I'm not sure how long they will last overall. I'd definitely recommend them to a friend though at this point. I'll probably have a different opinion in a few years if they don't turn out to be the greatest thing, but so far, they really have held up. And this winter was a super harsh one. We got more snow than we have got in quite a few years so I'm super excited that they have lasted without any leaks or any issues at all


Date created: 2018-04-20 Location: Dallas, TX

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Review of roof shingles on our house"
I have had the shingles for about 3 years now when we replaced the shingles 3 years ago due to a hail storm. The repairs went very smoothly. This is an upgraded shingle compared to the previous shingles which were the cheapest builders grade shingles. The architectural design provides much better contrast in the roof and make the home look better. I really like these shingles and I would definitely buy this again and recommend to a friend. The quality of these shingles are very good as we have had a few hailstorms and I noticed less granules residue after major storms in our storm drains.

<< Previous1234Next >>

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofingcompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofingcompare.com.