Consumer Reviews of Owens Corning shingles

Popularity:
#2  of 11 brands of shingles

96% of customers recommend
5 of 5 stars 30 reviews

  • Very Satisfied
    27
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    2
  • Neutral
    0
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    0
  • Very Unsatisfied
    1

Read more about Owens Corning shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands

Write a review

<< Previous123

Date created: 2018-05-04 Location: Redondo Beach, CA

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"I've got shingles!"
I've had these shingles for a year now, and I've gotta say, they Do. The. Job. They're easy to install, and if you make a mistake, easy to remove. The texture to them feels nice and solid. I feel like I'm working with roofing gold. I would totally buy this brand again if I'm still living in this home long enough to get my roof reshingled! My roof looks a lot better now after I have done the work. I've got the nicest roof on the block now! Neighbors are asking me all the time, they're asking,"Who did you're roof?" I tell them, "Are you blind? It was me! I did with the Owens Corning Roof shingles! They are stunned and usually mention doing the same thing!



Date created: 2018-04-18 Location: Decatur, IL

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Owens Corning Supreme Shingle Review that are brown wood in color on my home."
I have had these shingles for 6 years and love them. They were priced right by my local contractor and they typically use them for most applications. The installers appeared to install them quickly and found no bad packages within the pallet that was delivered to be installed. I like that they are attractive and of course don't allow water or anything else to leak inside the home. I can inspect my attic easily by a staircase and can confirm these are not allowing any leakage and do not see any problems in the wood from the attic. I've not had to do anything to repair or replace these shingles. I'm no expert in shingles and am just a normal homeowner but believe these to be of superior quality when I look around my neighborhood I believe I have the best looking shingles as far as shingles go. I would buy this brand again and I would recommend this brand and this model to my friends.


Date created: 2018-04-13 Location: Brooklyn, NY

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"High Quality but Expensive Shingles."
I bought these shingles back in 2013, it was initially suppose to be a patch job because a a storm had damaged my roof. These shingles came highly recommended and I decided to give them a try. I was so impressed with how well they were made I went right back to the store to get enough to cover my entire roof. The shingle actually has a unique design that allows you to nail through the top of the shingle due to a black strip. This strip created a sealed barrier that will keep water out and will not split apart. My wife was specifically pleased with the color choices and their ability to reflect light which gives the house that "sparkling" look. If I had to say anything negative about the product it would be the cost. At about 95 bucks per square, it can get extremely costly if you are on a budget. However, I will say you get what you pay for here and that is top quality.


Date created: 2018-04-11 Location: Toledo, OH

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Pleased with these shingles so far."
We started to have a some leaks about 8 years ago and they were getting worse even with repairs. So about 5 years ago, we had the Owens Corning charcoal dimensionals installed. The install went great and it was quick too, the guys that did it had no problems. They look fantastic, much better than the 30 year old shingles we had on previously. We have had no leaks so far and they seem to be holding together all right. We even had a wind storm last year with 50 to 60 mph gusts and did not lose a single shingle. Many of our neighbor's did however and I am really pleased with the way our shingles weathered the storm. If I had to do it over again, I wouldn't hesitate to use the Owens Corning product again. I've always heard they had quality shingles and now i know it for sure.


Date created: 2018-04-04 Location: Syracuse, NY

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"My Shingles and Me"
I really enjoy my shingles. They have a laminated feel to them, and have been extremely sturdy. They are around 32 square feet, and fit perfectly on my roof. We have had many storms and inclement weather but my shingles have been no issue. Nothing sticks to them either, so during the Spring and Summer pollen is not an issue. My only complaint is that due to size sometimes leaves get stuck up there, I have to go on the roof and clean it about 2-3x a year. Other than that though I really enjoy these Owens shingles. I would definitely recommend it to a friend. It was cost efficient and also extremely easy to install. I have had them for nearly five years now and have not had to repair or replace anything, though I may do it soon in the future just for safety's sake. I would also try out other lines of Owen's shingles if it was recommended to me by a friend or expert.


Date created: 2018-01-23 Name: BR
Location: Corvallis, OR

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"Asphalt roofing shingles"
The shingles have been installed for about 1 year now. I bought them specifically for the price point and the color but also the reviews were good and since I am in a very rainy area I needed something dependable. Ever since they were installed they have worked flawlessly and we have not had to replace any or have had any leaks in the house. I know that it is too early to tell if they are going to be dependable but I have a friend that swears by this brand and he has convinced me that they will last 10+ years with no issues. Now that I made the purchase (albeit on credit) I would for sure recommend them to a friend because of the low price factor. I was quoted by a couple companies at rates 25% higher than the company that used these shingles that I bought from home depot and they installed them so it was a big money saver. We will see over the next decade or so how they hold up and if these savings were actually not savings at all. Another point that might be important is that Home Depot referred me to this specific one when I wanted the best overall value. They said that some of the shingles had better look and would cost about 50% more but that the function of these was close to if not the exact same performance. So obviously being the cheapo person I am went with the best value.


Date created: 2018-01-14 Name: JH
Location: Rosenberg, TX

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Owens Corning Roof Shingles Review"
We have enjoyed our Ownes Corning roof shingles for 1 and 3/4 years. The shingles were on installed on our new build home and have withstood the winds from a EF-0 tornado that passed over our home in February of this year, as well as withstanding the winds from Hurricane Harvey. We did not get the full force winds of a CAT 4 hurricane like other people did in south Texas, but we did receive tropical storm force winds sustained for over 2 days. We have had heavy rains here as well because of Hurricane Harvey, and the shingles have stood up well to the stresses of the past year. I am very happy with our choice to put this shingle on our home.


Date created: 2018-01-13 Name: sdt
Location: Florence, MS

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Owens Corning Archetectural shingles"
The original shingles installed on my home when I bought it new in 2008 were misinstalled. I had to have a complete tear-off and replaced with these in Jan, 2015. I love them, they were installed by a quality installer, and I have had no problems whatsoever.


Date created: 2017-12-22 Name: Alex C
Location: Sacramento, california

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Switch to asphalt shingles if you want a quieter home"
The change from laminate shingles to asphalt shingles is noticeable. Ever since I got my roof redone and decided to go with asphalt the amount of reduced noise every single night was worth every penny. Just during this last winter when it was pouring rain it felt like you could hear every drop on the old shingles whereas on these it's almost like there's a silencer on the roof. I have had asphalt shingles for a little over a year now and I'm very satisfied with my purchase. The pricing was affordable, the brand name reliable, and the roof now sturdy. Given the opportunity I would buy asphalt shingles again. The company I am not exactly married to but their product has been satisfactory. However, I wouldn't mind if I had received them through another brand. Regardless I feel like it would have been a good product. I know that asphalt shingles have a Class a fire rating which is a definite Pro to getting them. Hopefully I will never need them for that reason but it is comforting to know that if that tragedy does arrive I am prepared for it. The installation of asphalt shingles was actually a lot easier than I thought they would be. The installation was simple and was able to be completed in a very short and very convenient amount of time.


Date created: 2017-11-07 Name: SS
Location: Pueblo, Colorado

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Nice Roof!"
I went with these shingles 8 years ago after my roof was nearly ripped off. I was actually impressed by them. One, the color, it stands out. Never had complements like I do now of people passing by and saying "nice roof" before. Second, we've had several large hail storms since installing, and while all my neighbors have had to replace their roof, mine still looks great! I've referred them to my friends and family, and I would definitely pay the little bit extra to buy them again when needed.

<< Previous123

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofingcompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofingcompare.com.