Consumer Reviews of Certainteed shingles

Popularity:
#8  of 11 brands of shingles

80% of customers recommend
4 of 5 stars 10 reviews

  • Very Satisfied
    5
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    3
  • Neutral
    0
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    0
  • Very Unsatisfied
    2

Read more about Certainteed shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands

Write a review


Date created: 2019-07-30 Name: Richard Beal
Location: Cocoa Beach

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Warning Landmark Failure"
Had a new roof put on in May 2014 using Certainteed Landmark Shingles. Recently had electrical service upgraded. Electricians noticed many loose tabs. Upon closer inspection I found approximately 50% of the tabs loose (not bonded to the tar below them). Went online and found many homeowners with similar problems. Certainteed told me to remove a shingle and mail it to them. From the results posted online Certainteed Warranty is totally worthless. Mailing a shingle is just the start of a dog & pony show designed to frustrate the homeowner as they give homeowners the bureaucratic run-a-round. Rather than frustrate myself I have hired a crew to reseal my roof.



Date created: 2019-06-24 Name: Don Schmidt
Location: Western, MT

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Do NOT buy Certainteed shingles"
Shingles started failing after 10 years. Now year 13 and have severe degranulation. I clean my gutters every year and get 3 to 4 gallons of shingle gravel out of the gutters. Wind or rain will cover the deck in granules from shingles. Fiberglass now showing on many. Roof will need to be replaced in a year or two. So much for a 25 year warranty.


Date created: 2018-12-18 Location: South Carolina

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"New Certain Teed shingles on my new roof, a review."
I just had my new roof put on about 2 weeks ago and am currently loving the look. I like the moire black color choice, it is dark and has no discolorations, my only complaint is that it took two days to install when I was quoted for one. These new shingles are rated for >130mph hurricane winds, a significant upgrade over the base shingles that came with our home. I have not had to replace these yet as the roof is only 2 weeks old, but I am very happy with the 50 year warranty that comes with them. I would definitely recommend these to a friend.


Date created: 2018-11-14 Location: Mechanic Falls, ME

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"The three tab shingle roof is basic, but does the job well."
The Certainteed XT25 shingles on my roof were installed about 11 years ago. They're pretty basic in appearance, being a black three tab style shingle, but have held up very well over the years. I've had absolutely no leaks or problems, as such I haven't had to do any repairs to the roof. I have no doubt that any repair would be simple though, as they should behave and respond like most asphalt shingles. The Certainteed shingles have held up very well against all forms of weather. In Maine we have both extremes of heat and cold, as well as times with a lot of rain, snow, and wind. My Certainteed shingles have held up wonderfully to everything Mother Nature has thrown at them. For the durability and price that was paid, I have absolutely no regrets owning this product. I am very satisfied with the shingles and would definitely purchase Certainteed brand again.


Date created: 2018-10-24 Location: Kansas City, MO

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"The shingles on my roof"
I have owned these shingles for about three years now. We had to get them replaced a few years back because they were getting old. I really like these new ones. They help get rid of water from rain very easily. Have not had any leaks or anything. I have nothing that I dislike about these shingles. I would definitely recommend these to a friend and I would buy them again. I do not think I will have to repair or replace them in the near future, but maybe down the road a few years.


Date created: 2018-09-13 Location: Birchwood, WI

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Great shingles and nice color"
We have had our shingles for about a year. They are installed at our cabin in Northwest Wisconsin. Our previous shingles wore out prematurely and started to curl up and disintegrate. These new shingles are so much more durable and sturdy. These shingles also look so much nicer than the previous ones. We went with the Burnt Sienna, it matches quite nicely with the color of the log cabin. I expect these shingles will be up to the task to protect the cabin during those long, brutal winters of the north woods.


Date created: 2018-09-07 Location: O'Fallon, MO

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Architectural shingles with 30 year guarantee"
We have owned CertainTeed black architectural shingles for 2 years. Our builder uses this supplier. I love the look of the shingles and have no complaints thus far about them. Fortunately, we have not had the need to repair or replace them yet. Have owned CertainTeed shingles on our last three homes and will always purchase from them, as they have an excellent reputation and their product looks good and holds up.


Date created: 2018-07-25 Location: Mcconnelsville, Ohio

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"The shingles on my roof are over 15 years old."
I love Certainteed roofing shingles that have been on my house for atleast 15 years. No leaks, no tiles have blown off during storms and they really stand up to some beatings. I have trees all around my house. They are constantly blowing unto my roof. You would think this would damage a few tiles, but they have stood the test of time! I would recommend anyone looking for roofing tiles to look at this brand. Lots of colors and really tough. The only thing I don't like is how dark the tiles are. But that is my fault, not the companies! You wouldn't believe how tough these tiles are! what a great brand. If I had to replace them, I think the company would still be in business and I would be able to get the same color tiles!


Date created: 2018-04-27 Location: West Branch, MI

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"Review of Certainteed Asphalt Shingles"
We are currently residing in a residence that replaced its roofing 6 years ago with Certaineed CT20 Asphalt Shingles. They are a standard asphalt shingle in a charcoal grey. For the most part, we are very pleased with this product. It has withstood 6 years of hard Midwestern winters and we have not noticed that any are missing, have moved or that the color has faded. There were a couple pieces near the sewer vent that had to be removed as they were hanging down, but I believe this was due to faulty placing on our part, and not the shingles themselves. I would definitely recommend this shingle as an affordable but quality product.


Date created: 2018-04-10 Location: Atlanta, Georgia

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"Expensive to install, but worth it in the end."
I had my shingles installed about a year ago after about 10 years with the original shingles we had on the house. So far we have had no problems whatsoever. The roof looks great, and even with a lot of heavy rainstorms and debris falling from nearby trees, we have experienced no leaking or damage. The only thing I didn't like about these was that they were quite expensive to buy and install, but most shingles are. I have also noticed that when it does rain, the shingles really amplify the sound of the raindrops. I know most people would probably hate this and find it annoying, but I actually find it kind of relaxing, especially when it rains at night. I have not had to repair or replace them yet, thankfully. As a result of their durability, I would definitely buy these again and will go out of my way to recommend them to all of my friends who are homeowners.

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofingcompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofingcompare.com.