Consumer Reviews of IKO shingles

Popularity:
#9  of 11 brands of shingles

45% of customers recommend
3 of 5 stars 11 reviews

  • Very Satisfied
    4
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    1
  • Neutral
    0
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    5

Read more about IKO shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands

Write a review

12Next >>

Date created: 2019-09-13 Name: darrell sandmoen
Location: Selkirk. Manitoba. Canada

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Roll roofing is almost worthless. Garbage."
Iko rolled roofing is a product you should avoid. It is flimsy and weak and has the bare minimum of granular coating. It tears like tissue paper and if you leave the slightest bump or nail head under it the material will puncture and leak almost under it's own weight. I so regret using it. There are much better products out there for a similar price. Disappointed!



Date created: 2019-08-15 Name: Lori LeMont
Location: Stratton, Maine

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"35 year Chateau Shingles"
House was built in Oct of 2004 with 35-year Chateau Shingles,. Shingles only really lasted like 8 years. Yes, we should have done the warranty back in 2012, but we didn't. So this year we did and sent in shingles and all kinds of pics more than what they wanted. So deal is $239 back or 13 bundles of same shingles, Really there is 16 years left on the 35-year shingles and I definitely do not want 13 bundles of junk. Never buy these shingles.


Date created: 2019-03-25 Name: patricia stulov
Location: Newmarket, Ontario

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"SHINGLES DEFECTIVE"
Had my whole roof done in 2010 -last year in may 2019 we had a wind storm few shingles went flying off my roof-called our roofers with a contract that says 30 yrs warranty materials and 10 yrs warranty labor. The company was closed. Got in touch with IKO in Brampton Ontario- they asked me for a piece of the shingles-copy of roof receipt and pictures of roof proving the shingles were blown off. After many months and emails they wrote to say the Limited Wind Restistance warranty had expired. WTF. Had to call a roofer and buy shingles and pay up. Just when I thought it was over, this year Feb 24th 2019-rain storm. Another few shingles blown off a different section of the roof. Now what? so upset and disappointed. Who is going to help us?? Please reply need urgent help.


Date created: 2018-10-19 Location: Belleville, IL

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Roofing Shingles"
We have owned the shingle for 5 years, very durable. I do not feel that I dislike anything about it. No replacement or repairs so far. Yes, I would recommend this to a friend or buy it again. I feel that the shingles have lasted for multiple years without us having to worry. We do take care of them better than most though, keeping sticks and debris off the roof. If I were to buy these again though, I would probably choose a different color, as I do not like the darker color on our house. I also did not research too much when purchasing because these were the recommended shingles to me by a friend. However, now that I have owned them and seen how durable and long-lasting they are, I do not feel any further research would be needed. If you are looking for shingles for your house today, I can guarantee you will not be dissatisfied with your purchase of these shingles.


Date created: 2018-10-10 Name: Richard
Location: Holly Ridge, NC

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Won’t seal"
Entire roof has not sealed from 5 years ago. North Carolina weather gets into the high 90s. 80 mile per hour winds tore the roof apart. I would never recommend this shingle brand.


Date created: 2018-09-19 Name: Kathy
Location: York Region, Ontario, Canada

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Warranty not good"
Installed in 2004 and in 2018 we have to replace due to loss of granules and curling. So we contacted the roofing company and they say there’s no more warranty on them. Really?! 14 years is not 25 years! And now we are looking at shelling out another astronomical amount. Shame on the industry for being so misleading.


Date created: 2018-09-05 Location: Cherokee

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
" Perfect for all environments with a special cover and exact symmetry in any color"
I have owned my tile for about 7 years. I remember when I bought them, I installed in 2011. I liked very much the type of tile that I bought because it was very good and energetic and I did not get to feel much heat. If I had to say something that I did not like about my tile, I would say nothing because to date, it has not brought me any inconvenience. I would buy the same type of tile because I like them, and as I said earlier, It has not brought me any problem. And I will not mention that the red color with the walls of my house stands out a lot and besides that, my son loves them and I told them again that I had planned to change them and they refused to agree with me.


Date created: 2018-06-27 Location: Belleville, IL

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Great shingles for Tornado Alley"
Living in the Midwest comes with hot summers, cold winters, and storm ridden springs. My family and I have lived in our house for 9 years and had IKO Asphalt Roofing Shingles put on since they can handle cold weather and have good weight. As I mentioned, we get plenty of cold temps and snow which can be awful and cause shingles to become brittle. We also have plenty of storms and tornadoes in spring. I can't really think about any negatives comments about the brand considering the price is fair in my opinion. It has only been 9 years but with all the inclement weather we have had we have not had to replace any shingles, which is great. My elderly neighbor couple had their roof re-shingled a few years back after a particularly Spring and I recommend the shingles my family and I use. So, I'd recommend checking this brand out if you are replacing old shingles.


Date created: 2018-06-05 Location: Spokane, WA

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Roofing Shingles are in Great Shape!"
I have had these shingles on my house for 10 years now and they are still in fantastic shape. They were installed by McVay Brothers Roofing. They hold up to rain and snow very well, which is a necessity for me as I live in Spokane, WA where the winters can get very snowy. They are great because I have never experienced a leak through them or seen them break and come apart. If I had to say one thing bad about them it would probably be the fact that visually they look a slight bit weathered compared to when they were brand new, but this is expected and definitely a minor part in deciding what roofing to get as it still looks generally very good. I have never had to replace any part of it, it is holding up very strong. I would most definitely recommend this to a friend as I love mine and have experienced very little trouble maintaining it.


Date created: 2018-05-23 Location: Wichita, Kansas

Satisfaction Rating:

2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"unsatisfied with our roofing"
We paid quite a bit for this set of shingles, with a name that implies durability, when we had our roof redone last year. We've had to replace some of them on a number of occasions. The wind just seems to knock them off. We have another brand of shingles on the rest of the roof and they are just fine. They look nice, but here in Kansas, we have many different kinds of weather, and I really don't need the hassle of having to replace these things every couple of months. I think the problem is with the tar, it just doesn't seem to keep them sealed with the other shingles and so they blow off and have to be replaced. Unfortunately, they don't offer a warranty. We're stuck with it for now, at least until I get my job back. I really don't like to think about it that much.

12Next >>

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofingcompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofingcompare.com.