Consumer Reviews of IKO shingles

Popularity:
#9  of 11 brands of shingles

38% of customers recommend
3 of 5 stars 13 reviews

  • Very Satisfied
    4
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    1
  • Neutral
    0
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    7

Read more about IKO shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands

Write a review

12Next >>

Date created: 2019-12-04 Name: Joseph
Location: Ontario

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Poor customer service. Shingles only lasted half warranty life"
Iko product disintegrating. Costing me thousands to replace. Company warranty is a joke.



Date created: 2019-11-26 Name: Sandy B
Location: NC

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Defective inferior shingle"
Defective Shingles and Terrible customer service. I paid for a new roof to be installed January of 2016. My Roofer recommend Iko Shingles. The roofer, who has been fantastic, installed the Iko Cambridge Shingles and the roofer/installer for the last three years has come out to do repair after repair after repair. The darn things are just not sticking!!!! Even my two neighbors across the street mentioned that shortly after the install they started blowing off the roof. Roofer came back out and put them all back on. Nothing but headache after headache. Finally my roofer said these shingles are defective. I have been trying to work with Iko Warranty for the last 6 months and have been met with nothing but resistance. I send in what's requested and they ask for more information. Be sure to have your tracking number or how convenient they can't seem to locate the package of shingles and pics. I or my roofer provide that information and again, met with resistance. Iko customer service is terrible. Jump through all the hoops and provide all the information and still get the run-around. I will be filing a complaint with my state attorney generals office. And I'll be sure to tell anyone (and leave reviews ) who will listen about the defective quality of Iko shingles and the nonexistent customer service. Refused to send a rep out to examine the roof. Screams volumes about the quality of IKO's products. Just got off the phone with my roofer he no longer uses Iko products. IKO WARRANTY 18004332811 They will send you a packet of what is need to submit the claim. be prepared when you have submitted ALL the information. That they will come back and ask for more. Collect receipts, pictures and a ton of pictures, exterior front, back, side top bottom, inside the attic and something with your address on the pic. send that in and they will want close ups, climb up on the roof and get CLOSEUP photos have copies of everything that is sent to IKO CLAIMS Attn Warranty Service Department 235 W. South Tec DR. Kankakee, IL 60901-8426 Sad that this faulty defective product has made it on so many roofs. Huge cost to consumer. So much for a peace of mind!! Shame on IKO for not standing behind their product.. HUGE EXPENSE HUGE HEADACHE HUGE NIGHTMARE Shame on IKO for not standing behind their product. They will blame the installer for their faulty, defective, inferior product. Stay away. Terrible product. Terrible customer service.


Date created: 2019-09-13 Name: darrell sandmoen
Location: Selkirk. Manitoba. Canada

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Roll roofing is almost worthless. Garbage."
Iko rolled roofing is a product you should avoid. It is flimsy and weak and has the bare minimum of granular coating. It tears like tissue paper and if you leave the slightest bump or nail head under it the material will puncture and leak almost under it's own weight. I so regret using it. There are much better products out there for a similar price. Disappointed!


Date created: 2019-08-15 Name: Lori LeMont
Location: Stratton, Maine

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"35 year Chateau Shingles"
House was built in Oct of 2004 with 35-year Chateau Shingles,. Shingles only really lasted like 8 years. Yes, we should have done the warranty back in 2012, but we didn't. So this year we did and sent in shingles and all kinds of pics more than what they wanted. So deal is $239 back or 13 bundles of same shingles, Really there is 16 years left on the 35-year shingles and I definitely do not want 13 bundles of junk. Never buy these shingles.


Date created: 2019-03-25 Name: patricia stulov
Location: Newmarket, Ontario

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"SHINGLES DEFECTIVE"
Had my whole roof done in 2010 -last year in may 2019 we had a wind storm few shingles went flying off my roof-called our roofers with a contract that says 30 yrs warranty materials and 10 yrs warranty labor. The company was closed. Got in touch with IKO in Brampton Ontario- they asked me for a piece of the shingles-copy of roof receipt and pictures of roof proving the shingles were blown off. After many months and emails they wrote to say the Limited Wind Restistance warranty had expired. WTF. Had to call a roofer and buy shingles and pay up. Just when I thought it was over, this year Feb 24th 2019-rain storm. Another few shingles blown off a different section of the roof. Now what? so upset and disappointed. Who is going to help us?? Please reply need urgent help.


Date created: 2018-10-19 Location: Belleville, IL

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Roofing Shingles"
We have owned the shingle for 5 years, very durable. I do not feel that I dislike anything about it. No replacement or repairs so far. Yes, I would recommend this to a friend or buy it again. I feel that the shingles have lasted for multiple years without us having to worry. We do take care of them better than most though, keeping sticks and debris off the roof. If I were to buy these again though, I would probably choose a different color, as I do not like the darker color on our house. I also did not research too much when purchasing because these were the recommended shingles to me by a friend. However, now that I have owned them and seen how durable and long-lasting they are, I do not feel any further research would be needed. If you are looking for shingles for your house today, I can guarantee you will not be dissatisfied with your purchase of these shingles.


Date created: 2018-10-10 Name: Richard
Location: Holly Ridge, NC

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Won’t seal"
Entire roof has not sealed from 5 years ago. North Carolina weather gets into the high 90s. 80 mile per hour winds tore the roof apart. I would never recommend this shingle brand.


Date created: 2018-09-19 Name: Kathy
Location: York Region, Ontario, Canada

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Warranty not good"
Installed in 2004 and in 2018 we have to replace due to loss of granules and curling. So we contacted the roofing company and they say there’s no more warranty on them. Really?! 14 years is not 25 years! And now we are looking at shelling out another astronomical amount. Shame on the industry for being so misleading.


Date created: 2018-09-05 Location: Cherokee

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
" Perfect for all environments with a special cover and exact symmetry in any color"
I have owned my tile for about 7 years. I remember when I bought them, I installed in 2011. I liked very much the type of tile that I bought because it was very good and energetic and I did not get to feel much heat. If I had to say something that I did not like about my tile, I would say nothing because to date, it has not brought me any inconvenience. I would buy the same type of tile because I like them, and as I said earlier, It has not brought me any problem. And I will not mention that the red color with the walls of my house stands out a lot and besides that, my son loves them and I told them again that I had planned to change them and they refused to agree with me.


Date created: 2018-06-27 Location: Belleville, IL

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Great shingles for Tornado Alley"
Living in the Midwest comes with hot summers, cold winters, and storm ridden springs. My family and I have lived in our house for 9 years and had IKO Asphalt Roofing Shingles put on since they can handle cold weather and have good weight. As I mentioned, we get plenty of cold temps and snow which can be awful and cause shingles to become brittle. We also have plenty of storms and tornadoes in spring. I can't really think about any negatives comments about the brand considering the price is fair in my opinion. It has only been 9 years but with all the inclement weather we have had we have not had to replace any shingles, which is great. My elderly neighbor couple had their roof re-shingled a few years back after a particularly Spring and I recommend the shingles my family and I use. So, I'd recommend checking this brand out if you are replacing old shingles.

12Next >>

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofingcompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofingcompare.com.